Dow Jones from 1930 to 2008

Note: This post has been updated.

Here is an interesting look at the Dow Jones Industrial Average from around the time of the (first?) Great Depression until now.

If you follow the line through Reagan’s first term, the Dow should be at about 2,500-3,000.

Here are the Asian markets for those curious about what’s happening.

Published in: on October 12, 2008 at 1:47 pm  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wcrnews.wordpress.com/2008/10/12/dow-jones-from-1930-to-2008/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] I mentioned in a previous post, if you look at the historical trend, the Dow Jones Industrial Average had a pretty steady rate of […]

  2. It is a bit misleading to look at long term data on a linear chart. If you look at a logarithmic chart and estimate a long term trendline, you get what I’ve linked to as my website.

    Of course a trendline is affected by every data point in the series, and should always be taken with a grain of salt.

    However if you believe in reading charts, it would be likely that we’re entering a period, much like 1940-55 or 1970-95 where we trend parallel to but below the long-run average. That long run average appears to be roughly 9000 for early 2009.

    Of course, grain of salt added, I don’t know what I’m talking about. If I did, I’d be rich by now.

  3. Magnificent issues altogether, you simply gained a new reader. What would you suggest in regards to your post that you just made some days in the past? Any positive?

  4. Hey! I just want to give a huge thumbs up for the great information you have got here on this post.
    I shall be coming again to your blog for extra
    soon.

  5. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I really enjoyed reading it, you
    happen to be a great author.I will make sure to bookmark your blog
    and will eventually come back in the future. I want to encourage you to continue your great work,
    have a nice morning!

  6. Hmm it seems like your website ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess
    I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly
    enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog writer
    but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any suggestions for newbie blog writers? I’d
    definitely appreciate it.

  7. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back
    to your site? My blog site is in the very same niche as yours and my users would definitely benefit
    from a lot of the information you present here.
    Please let me know if this ok with you. Thanks
    a lot!

  8. Hey! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok.
    I’m absolutely enjoying your blog and look forward to new posts.


Leave a Reply

